10 on 10 – Happy New Year!

For last year’s words belong to last year’s language
And next year’s words await another voice.
And to make an end is to make a beginning.
~T.S. Eliot, “Little Gidding”

Endings and beginnings. That is what this 10 on 10 had in store for us. The end of a year, documented hourly for my current 10 on 10 project. If you are new to my blog you can see my original post here. I used to say that I really disliked New Years Eve, the pressure to celebrate, to enjoy and celebrate the passing of another year. Now that I know myself better, I know that it’s not that I dislike New Years Eve, it’s that I prefer to spend it quietly, contemplatively (is that even possible with children?), and with those that I really love and care about. I never was much of a party girl……well…….not for New Years Eve;)!

This year we decided to spend our evening at my sisters’ house. I spent the day with the kids – hanging out, doing our regular school holiday relaxing thing, and then we packed up the five of us and the dog and hit the road to Beaumont! It was a fun, chill evening with yummy fondue – both cheese and chocolate, some World Juniors hockey (I’m Canadian eh!) and visiting with my sister and Linds<3. It was great. The next morning I was able to hide away in the bathtub for some quiet contemplation. Wonderful way to end and begin our new year.

Please be sure to check out the rest of the circle of blogs, starting with my new friend Lisa (who is amazing) atΒ http://www.lisaellephotography.com/?p=539

I love comments and would love to hear what you did on New Years, or what you wished you were doing on New Years! Feel free to use the share buttons at the bottom of the post to share this post with your friends.

Hi all – come over here to see what I’ve been up to! I moved sites:)

9 thoughts on “10 on 10 – Happy New Year!

  1. Pingback: 10-on-10 | January 2012 » Jennifer Kruk Photography | Blog

  2. Oh girl, we are so in sync!!!!!! I took a pic of my daughter playing piano (but it wasn’t as nice at yours and did not make the cut hehe) and, as an italian, I was ALMOST going to take a pic with my nutella!!!!! =)
    Love your style. LOVE that second shot. Love love love!!!! I think that in all of them you did a FANTASTIC job capturing moments (that last one of your men and their technology!!! classic!!! =)) I can’t wait to share this year with you!!! PS, that first B&W: delicious!!!! πŸ˜‰

  3. These are all awesome Renee!!! I love the details you captured throughout the day, it adds so much interest to the post (I’m already brainstorming for next month ;). Your family is beautiful – love all the pictures of your children!

    And I’m with you. I like a quiet New Years – to contemplate the year before & make mental changes for the year ahead.

  4. Ack! The TOES! Swoon!!! And those strawberries look like a pic from a food magazine! There is such an intimacy in your work~ It’s very heartwarming. And I’m on the quiet New Years wagon as well. And the last few years, my husband and I have quietly toasted in the New Year when it was midnight on the east coast. Two hours early for us. I like my sleep. Haha.

  5. Oh my, those baby feet, the piano and the BF photo are to die for. Seriously. I am totally going to have to try to capture my own baby foot photo like that πŸ™‚ I am loving your photos!

  6. These are wonderful Renee! I love the sweet moment captured in your first image and had to smile at the second one. We have had many a light sabre duel in our own house. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

